What's new
Aloft Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trouble using X8R with Taranis X9 Lite S

lewisd2

New User
Reaction score
I recently purchased a Taranis X9 Lite S transmitter, to finally upgrade my old Futaba FM radio system.
I was told by an Aloft Hobbies staff person that an X8R receiver would work with this transmitter, so I got that too.

Upon setting them up, I followed the binding instructions, and all seemed to work (solid green light on the RX). Channels 1-4 work just fine. However, all channels above 4 don't respond at all. I have the transmitter in ACCST D16 mode.

I realize I'm new to the world of OpenTX and FrSky, but I've done a lot of searching to fix the issue and I believe I've set up the radio properly. I setup the inputs page 5 to accept channels 1 (ail), 2 (ele), 3 (thr), 4 (rud), 5 (flap). Channel 5 is the only one that won't respond. I get the same issue if I connect it to ch 6, 7, 8 on the receiver. However, if I put it on ch4, the servo responds normally. It's like the receiver is ignoring any channel input above 4.

Can anyone help here? Have I messed up something in the transmitter setup? Do I have a defective TX or RX? Should I attempt a firmware update? I'm currently on the 11/7/2019 frSky d39cc6fa.

Kilrah

Very Strong User
Reaction score
Check that the Channel Range includes all the channels you want in the module settings.

lewisd2

New User
Reaction score
The channel range is set to 1-16 in ACCST D16 mode on the transmitter. The only other choice is 1-8. However, both of these choices have the same result of ignoring ch 5-8. In addition, when binding, I've tried choosing ch 1-8 with telemetry on and off. No difference. (by the way, the telemetry for RX battery voltage seems to be working).

Kilrah